BERGEN AUDIO – 17:00 AT THE PORT

10 Apr

A recording taken during a short walk to the port in Bergen.

5 Responses to “BERGEN AUDIO – 17:00 AT THE PORT”

  1. Pete Stollery April 11, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    OK – so the first sound you recorded was seagulls – bet that made you both feel really at home!

    Actually, I think this is really interesting. We could look at the very slight differences that there might be between the sounds of the gulls in Bergen and those in Aberdeen. If there are similar sounds in St Petersburg I think there could be some useful morphing between each of the cities in this respect. We must make sure we get some docks/gulls recordings in St P.

    Reminds me very much of the recordings I made in 1997 at Aberdeen docks for ABZ/A. I still go to Pocra Quay to stand and listen to the incredible spatial distribution of the sounds there.

    • threecitiesproject April 12, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      This was inevitable. Seagulls were everywhere in Bergen.

      • thom blum April 14, 2011 at 7:23 am #

        I’ve made some nice recordings of gulls flying over the piers in san francisco bay. Of course they are quite similar to yours in Bergen yet they’re unique. (But how much of that is due to the ambient and acoustic differences of the two sites? i don’t know.)

        I do like Pete’s “geo-morphing” idea very much!

      • threecitiesproject April 14, 2011 at 8:33 am #

        Hi Thom,

        Thanks for the comment. You are right that there is something peculiar about those gulls in Bergen, though I think the difference we feel may have a lot to do with other things, as you pointed out. Could you give us a link (soundcloud, perhaps) of your gulls recording for a listen?

        Pete’s “geo-morphing” idea is interesting. But we should really try it to see if it works. I think, though, for any morphing to work effectively, both the origin and the target are characteristic and distinctive enough–I wonder those seagulls in Bergen and those in other places will offer such distinctiveness for listeners.
        A nice starting point, though.

        – Jun

  2. thom blum April 30, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Hi Jun,

    I just uploaded a couple of short soundfiles to my new SoundCloud account with San Francisco gulls in them. I’m not sure how you get to them because I’m brand new to SoundCloud. I can tell you that my account is “Thom Blum” so maybe that will help.

    If you cannot find them at SoundCloud let me know and I will get them to you some other way.

    Best regards,
    ..Thom

Leave a Reply

